2.en.9 Conditional sentences: connectors

connecting-ideas-2-banner

Sentence connectors are words and phrases that link ides in sentences.

Let’s have a look at connectors we can use in conditional sentences:

Click on the link below for a presentation of the basic connectors for conditional sentences: if / unless / when

CONNECTORS OF CONDITION

Now, we are going to have an extended look at other connectors:

We use several connectors when we want to indicate a condition.

The most common is If:

If I see him, I’ll give him the message.

We can use Even If to emphasize the idea that something will/would happen:

Even if we leave now, we won’t be able to catch the train.

Only If makes the condition more restrictive:

You should come to the cinema only if you like horror movies.

We can use Whether when the condition can be considered as an alternative between  two possibilities:

I don’t know whether they will agree (or not) on that subject.

We use Unless to express a negative condition:

You won’t pass the exam unless you study harder.

Other conectors are:

A) Necessary Conditions

Provided (that): We’ll go fishing this afternoon, provided (that) it doesn’t rain.

Providing (that): You can borrow my car providing (that) you return it today.

On the condition that: I’ll lend you the money on the condition that you pay me back next month.

As long as: Nobody will know this secret as long as you keep your mouth shut.

But for + noun: I would have arrived earlier but for the traffic jam. (if it hadn’t been for the traffic jam)

B) Imaginary Conditions

In case: Take your umbrella in case it rains. (indicates a precautionary action)

Assuming (that): Assuming that Barça beats Real Madrid in their next match, Cristiano will quit the team.

Supposing / Suppose (that): Supposing that you won the lottery. What would you do?

Imagine (that): You want to play tennis tomorrow, but just imagine that it rains. Will you still play?

If only and I wish

Sometimes we can make the condition more empatic by placing only after if:

If only I knew what to do, I would tell you.

If only I had time, I would go to the cinema.

If only can sometimes be replaced by I wish, omitting the main clause:

I wish I knew what to do.

I wish I had time (to go to the cinema).

Deixa un comentari

