2.en.10 On the move: Migration

Hi everyone! We have finished the block of contents dealing with travelling.  However, here we are  again, on the move, forced to pack. This time for a different reason, not just for pleasure.

Why do people migrate?

What are the push and pull forces that make people move?

 How do they feel about leaving their  belongings behind?

What do they take with them?

We shall start this term with an old suitcase full of  memories from distant lands. What do all these stories have in common? Well, you’ll  need to find out.  They were compiled by the New York Times a couple of years ago. Your teachers and your classmates last year found them inspiring.  We hope you do too.

Homework: Tuesday 11th Read the 12 stories and take notes in your notebook. Which story did you find the most interesting/ moving?  Why? Post your comments to the blog. In the power point, you will find the link to the  newspaper article. 

Also, read some of the comments generated by the article. Choose one and copy it in your notebook. Is there any contribution from a Spanish person ?

38 Respostes to “2.en.10 On the move: Migration”

  1. joana Says:

    We have to sumarice the stories for tomorrow?

  2. marpina Says:

    For me, the most interesting moving is the last one. The 12th story: Ruth Heiman- Her mother wedding ring.
    I like it because this person has gone bad times and has overcome.

  3. joanflaquer Says:

    My favourite moving is the history of Nancy Khan, because it is very nice, the part of her kitchen knife.🙂

  4. ritish7580 Says:

    The story I mostly liked was Ruth Heiman’s one, because I think it’s very sad that with only 15 years, she would’t see her parents anymore, and she didn’t even know it.

  5. juliariudez1999 Says:

    1.- Which story did you find the most interesting moving?
    I like very much the tenth and the twelfth movings.

    2.- Why?
    I like them because I think that it has a beauty story before.
    The tenth moving it’s a very important thing for the person that tells you the story, and it reminds you the awesome that the childhood is.
    And the twelfth it’s also a beautiful remind of the love of the parents, that never its forget.

  6. tonisalomporcel Says:

    I liked them all but the one I liked the most is about Istavan Makky. He carried it when he slipped over the border from Hungary where the guards were carrying machine guns, and when he was looking for work in Austria. He treasures it and doesn’t let anyone use it.

  7. joanacb Says:

    The story I like most is the first one the one of the pointe shoes. I like it because I want to become a ballet dancer someday. It shows me how dificult is find a job of ballet dancer right now because she is a dancer and she is working in a restaurant in NY. I hope the next time she willbe lucky and find a job has a ballet dancer.

  8. Núria.mt.5 Says:

    My favourite history is a Teenager diary. I like , the teenager diary because for my is important to remember our adolescence. Because I liked remember my adolescence and also remember many things, that I can not remember.

  9. claudiadesile Says:

    I thing that the most intresting story is that of Albert Barawandika because even though his mather and brother were killed in Burundi, he still loved this country.

  10. francina99 Says:

    The one I mostly liked has been the one about Ruth Heiman, because lose your parents is not easy to get over, and she says ” I live in the present, I don’t live in the past”. Ii think she’s very brave, and this story seems a good love story too.

  11. nereapar13 Says:

    The most interesting story is the 4th. The story from Albert Barawandika- a wooden map of Burundi. I like this story because, he can remember his mother and his brother that where killed in the violence that tore the region apart.

  12. LuciiLpz Says:

    For my the most interesting story is the one of Ruth Heiman. I think that is the most sentimental one and it was a very hard blow to she but knew how to overcome it.

  13. perecarbonellvidal Says:

    For me the most interesting is the 12th, because is similar that “The child of the striped pyjamas” and whith this story we can do a film like the “Titanic” and also we can do a book.

  14. leandra Says:

    I liked more the a wedding ring because she lost her parents and suffered much in his life and I think that was a very strong and brave woman.

  15. isidre99 Says:

    In my opinion the most interesting story is the Huan Zheng one. For me a metronome is an object that is not so important in my life and if one person likes this object I would like to know why it’s so important for her.

  16. neusmt93 Says:

    For me the most interesting is the 3th. The story from Thein Mynt – A school diploma .
    I like it becouse I think that this man is a hardworking persn , and not abuot clever .

  17. Núria.mt.5 Says:

    My favourite history is a Teenager diary. I like , the teenager diary because for my is important to remember our adolescence. Because I liked remember my adolescence and also remember many things, that I can not remember

  18. magdalenabisquerra Says:

    The story that is most interesting for me is the Milton Ming one, beacouse she’s said “It’s a memory lane” and I think it is important to have memories of your infancy, especially if you’ve lost almost everything. I understand it a bit because I’ve lost things and memories are all that I have of these.

  19. ainabarceló Says:

    For my the most interesting story is the Ruth Heiman one. I think she is very brave and the story is very nice.

  20. albacal Says:

    The most interesting moving is the ones of Ruth Heima because she move to New York for his love that was from America.

  21. tatianavanessa99 Says:

    For me the most interesting story is the Nancy khan´s story because I think that she is very good person for keep a precious souvenir even though it not serve for cutting vegetables.

  22. mariafont99 Says:

    For me the most interesting story is the “teenager diary” because I like read.

  23. Albadiaz Says:

    For me, the most interesting story is the 12th. The story of Ruth Heiman. I think that is the most important story because the story shows a women who suffered a lot and she has a brave woman. And i like this one because is a very interesting story.

  24. miquelsegui Says:

    For me the most interesting story is Albert Barawandika’s story, because he soported many pressions in his live but he surpass very quickly, i think that this man is a very mental strong person.

  25. juliatorregrosa Says:

    I liked the 12th, the one about the wedding ring. I liked because I think that Ruth Heiman is a very brave women because she lost her parents with 15 years and she tried to live in the present an not in the past, but she never will forgot the past.

  26. miguelangelvives Says:

    I like very much the story of Huan Zheng because is really amazing that someone that didn’t like instruments like a metronome and a metronome I think that is not a very entertaiment object.

    • miguelangelvives Says:

      I like very much the story of Huan Zheng because is really amazing that someone that didn’t like instruments , did like a metronome and a metronome I think that is not a very entertaiment object.

  27. toniparedes Says:

    The two that I’ve liked the most are the Istvan Makki and Ruth Heiman’s stories because they are the most original. They lived difficult and terrible times and they risked their lives. Their personal objects remind them, with mixed feelings, their tragic past.

  28. rociomaria Says:

    I liked the first story, from Jessica Lane, cause I think is a great example of someone who want’s its dream come true no matter what.

  29. adrian Says:

    I like ruth heiman

  30. luisdelbarcogonzalez Says:

    The one that I found more interesting was the story of Albert Barawandica and the wooden map of Burundi, because is very strange and nice at the same time, that after everything that has hapened to him in Burundi (his mother and his brother were killed there) he still loves Burundi.

    • luisdelbarcogonzalez Says:

      This is the comment that Ryan Yun, from Berlin, Germany, posted to the New York Times article. ” My family immigrated to the US from Hong Kong in 1969. We were going to join my father’s family in New York City. As young children my siblings and I couldn’t understand the journey we were embarking on and took nothing with us. Instead my mother made sure that every piece of baggage was crammed with cooking and eating utensils. What I remember was having to drag a carrier bag across the Chicago airport and hearing the clang of metal implements packed inside. The wok that she brought over has long been replaced, but she still has the same pair of tailoring shears which is now almost quartered in size by regular resharpening over the years. I took possession of a pair of ivory chopsticks and my mother’s orange cashmere cardigan a few years ago.”

  31. adriancachago Says:

    I like the story of ruth heiman because made me feel sad.

  32. davidllull Says:

    The story that I liked most is the one that talks about a Hungarian man that took with him a metalic instrument that is used to do lines in molds. I chose this story because I like the special instrument that brings him good luck.

  33. carmerossello Says:

    I chose the story of Ruth Heiman because I think it is very beatiful and has a lot of feeling.

  34. Alex Fernández Says:

    For me the most interesting moving is the Nancy Khan, because is very nice history and when I read I feel sad.

  35. Alex Fernández Says:

    For me the most interesting moving is the Nancy Khan, because is very beatiful history and when I read I feel sad.


Deixa un comentari

