2.en.37 On trees, leaves, plurals and virtual visits to Sóller Botanic Garde

.

On Monday February 27th you  visited  Sóller Botanic garden and learn lots of things about plants and trees. By now you should know that trees can be decidious or evergreen depending on whether they lose their leaves or not.

The plural of ” leaf” is “leaves”

similarly, the plural of “life” is “lives”; “knive” “knives”; “wife” “wives”

Here follow some  leaves. Match the leaf with its animation and look for the translation in Catalan and Spanish

a) beech b)maple c) oak, d) ash e)chestnut


2345

One of the evergreen trees that you found in the botanic garden is the Quercus Ilex.  Read this information from Wikipedia

Quercus ilex, the Holm Oak or Holly Oak is a large evergreen oak native to the Mediterranean region. It takes its name from holm, an ancient name for holly.[1] It is known by the names azinheira in Portugueseencinain Spanishcarrasca or alzina in Catalančesvina in Croatianis-siġra tal-ballutin Malteseand chêne vert or yeuse in French. It is a member of the white oaksection of the genus, with acorns that mature in a single summer.

In the Botanic Garden, plants and trees are organised in different terracesand sections. You visited the Botanic garden with your teachers and with your class but you  can also  visit the Botanic garden web site and have a look at how the plants are organised. It is an exceelent web site and you can choose the language: Catalan, Spanish, English, German and French. After the outing, you can visit the garden on line, it is a way to revise what you learnt.


  • How many terraces did you visit? Go to the site and find out.
  • Which of the terraces did you like best?

Let’s finish the post with some musical leavesleaves that are green and turn to brown. It’s a very old simple song. I hope you like it.

Leaves that are green , by Simon and Garfunkel

I was twenty-one years when I wrote this song.
I’m twenty-two now but I won’t be for long
Time hurries on.
And the leaves that are green turn to brown,
And they wither with the wind,
And they crumble in your hand.

Once my heart was filled with the love of a girl.
I held her close, but she faded in the night
Like a poem I meant to write.
And the leaves that are green turn to brown,
And they wither with the wind,
And they crumble in your hand.

I threw a pebble in a brook
And watched the ripples run away
And they never made a sound.
And the leaves that are green turned to brown,
And they wither with the wind,
And they crumble in your hand.

Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello,
Good-bye, Good-bye, Good-bye, Good-bye,
That’s all there is.

  1. Did you like the song?

Problem words: wither, crumble

Post your comments to the blog. for Wednesday 1st March

Here follows a map of the town. Can you find in the map the places you visited? Could you give instructions to a tourist on how to go to the Botanic garden from the train station?

 I’m sure that after the outing to Sóller you will recognize some of the words that appear below…


23 Respostes to “2.en.37 On trees, leaves, plurals and virtual visits to Sóller Botanic Garde”

  1. joansastre99 Says:

    I don’t like the song becouse is very boring !

  2. marpina Says:

    •How many terraces did you visit? Go to the site and find out.
    I visited all of them.
    •Which of the terraces did you like best?
    I liked M10.

    I liked the song.

  3. david Says:

    How many terraces did you visit? Go to the site and find out.
    i visited 7.

    Which of the terraces did you like best?
    the number M12

  4. luisdelbarcogonzalez Says:

    I like the song, but only a little bit
    How many terraces did you visited?
    I visited 7
    Wich of the terraces did you like best ?
    The nº 12

  5. Joana cb Says:

    How many terraces did you visit? We visited five terraces.
    Which of the terraces you like best? The last one.
    Did you like the song? Yes.
    Can you find in the map the places you visited? Could you give instructions to a tourist on how to go to the Botanic garden from the train station? I think yes. I think no, im a disaster giving instructions.

  6. albacal007 Says:

    How many terraces did you visit?
    We visited seven terraces.
    Which of the terraces you like best?
    I like thebest the terrace of “Oak forest flora”
    Did you like the song?
    I didn’t like very much the song.

  7. jaumedelaasuncion Says:

    How many terraces did you visit?
    We visited seven terraces.
    Which of the terraces you like best?
    I like the best the terrace are M6
    Did you like the song?
    No I don’t

  8. juliariudez1999 Says:

    1. Did you like the song?
    Yes, I did. Because it’s relaxing.

    •How many terraces did you visit? Go to the site and find out.
    I visit all of them.

    •Which of the terraces did you like best?
    I like much terraces, the best for me are M4, M5, M8, M9.

  9. nereapar13 Says:

    ·How many terraces did you visited?
    I visited 6 terraces.
    ·Which of the terraces did you like best?
    I like the M1 and M10.
    1.Did you like the song?
    Not very much.

  10. toniparedes Says:

    1. Did you like the song?
    Yes, I did, because the singer is good.
    ·How many terraces did you visited?
    We visited six terraces.
    •Which of the terraces did you like best?
    I like much terraces, the best for me are M4, M8, M9, M10

  11. tonirojas Says:

    Did you like the song?
    Yes, I liked beacuse is a good song for not very famous group
    How many terrace did you visit?
    We visit 6 terrace
    Wich of the terrace did you like best?
    I like much the terrace M10

  12. claudia-des Says:

    How many terrraces did you visited?
    7 terrraces.

    How many terrace did you like best?
    I like the terrace M10 because it had the sign hippie.

    Did you like the song?
    Yes, because I like the lyrcs of the song.

  13. miquelseguimiquelsegui Says:

    ·All de terraces.
    ·The canarian terrace.
    ·I don’t like de song! :S

  14. miquelseguimiquelsegui Says:

    Here follows a map of the town. Can you find in the map the places you visited? Could you give instructions to a tourist on how to go to the Botanic garden from the train station?

    ·Yes, the train station, the constitutation square, and more.

    ·I think no, the tourists in soller are very unfriendly and I don’t very good to ave instructions.

  15. gaspar99 Says:

    How many terraces did you visited?
    7 terraces.

    How many terrace did you like best?
    I like the terrace M10 because it had the sign hippie.

    Did you like the song?
    Not al all.

  16. LuciiLpz Says:

    How many terraces did you visited?
    I visit seven terraces.

    How many terrace did you like best?
    I like the terrace M10 because it have a sign of peace

    Did you like the song?
    Well … not is bad

  17. isidre99sidre Says:

    1Did you like the song?
    I like the chorus of the song
    2How many terraces did you visited?
    I don’t know because i didn’t go to the outing but all of my friends put seven and I think that is correct
    How many terrace did you like best?
    I don’t knoe becausse i didn’t go to the outing

  18. magdalena99 Says:

    Did you like the song?
    Yes, I liked beacuse is a good song for not very famous group
    How many terrace did you visit?
    We visit 6 terrace
    Wich of the terrace did you like best?
    I like much the terrace M10

  19. miguelangelvives Says:

    How many terraces did you visit? Go to the site and find out.
    7 terraces: M1, M2, M3, M4, M5, M6 and M 10.

    Which of the terraces did you like best? The M10.

    I don’t like very much.

  20. adriancachago Says:

    How many terraces did you visit? Go to the site and find out.
    We visit the garden M1, M2, M3, M4 and M5
    Which of the terraces did you like best? I like the garden M4
    Did you like the song? I don’t like song

  21. mariafont99 Says:

    •How many terraces did you visited? Go to the site and fins out.
    We visited seven terraces.

    •Which of the terraces did you like best?
    I liked old the terraces

  22. tonisalomporcel Says:

    * How many terraces did you visit?
    We visited six terraces. One of the terraces had five mediterranean islands.

    *Which of the terraces did you like best?
    I liked the Canary Island terrace the most.

    *Did you like the song?
    Yes, I did thank you.


Deixa un comentari

